Jacob Salzer (intro)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jacob Salzer (intro)

Hello! My name is Jacob. I've been writing haiku, tanka, and haibun for just over 13 years to date. I was introduced to haiku and related forms in college. In 2006, I took a college course titled The Way of Haiku and Haibun. We used this book as the classroom text: The Essential Haiku: Versions of Basho, Buson, & Issa (Essential Poets) Paperback - August 1, 1995 by Robert Hass (Editor, Translator).

Since that time, my haiku, tanka, and haibun have been published in Frogpond, Modern Haiku, Under the Basho, Chrysanthemum, A Hundred Gourds, Atlas Poetica, Haiku Canada Review, Prune Juice, and The Heron's Nest.

I've also written and self-published three haiku collections: The Sound of Rain (three-line haiku), Birds With No Names (three-line haiku), and Fog Between Mountains (one-line haiku), one haibun collection: Origins, and one tanka collection, Distant Sirens. I've also served as the managing editor of two anthologies: Yanty's Butterfly: An international Haiku Nook G+ Anthology dedicated to haiku poet Yanty Tjiam (1981-2015), featuring over 600 poems from 20 poets living Canada, the U.K., Germany, Persia, Sri Lanka, Ukraine, South Africa, Taiwan, the Philippines, and the U.S. and New Bridges: The Portland Haiku Group Anthology, featuring haiku and tanka from 17 poets and dedicated to haiku poets Johnny Baranski (1948-2018), Thomas James Martin (1944-2018), and Lorraine Ellis Harr (Tombo) (1912-2006).

I'm currently serving as the managing editor of two haiku anthologies: Half A Rainbow (a Haiku Nook G+ anthology dedicated haiku poet Rachel Sutcliffe (November 6, 1977-January 23, 2019) and Google+, and Desert Rain (A Haiku Nook G+ anthology dedicated to the 600+ million people who don't have access to clean water).

As of late, I painted my first haiga and have been translating a few of my haiku into Japanese.